Sun Apr 21, 2024 9:49 pm
Snap71 View latest post
Fri Apr 19, 2024 12:54 pm
MaxwellSmart View latest post
Sat Apr 13, 2024 2:43 pm
Natb1 View latest post
Thu Apr 11, 2024 1:10 am
Snap71 View latest post

Can you just swap out Motherboard, CPU & Memory?

Posted: Sat Dec 01, 2012 5:02 pm
Hey guys,

I just ordered a new Motherboard, CPU and Memory.  I have never done anything like this before, what are some of the potholes I need to be aware of.  Hardware arrives on Tuesday.

This is what I currently have:

Motherboard:  Asus IPIBL-LB micro ATX
CPU:  Intel Core2Quad Q6700@2.66 Ghz
Memory:  6 GB RAM DDR2

What I ordered:

Motherboard:  Asus P8Z77-V LX LGA 1155 Intel Z77 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard
CPU:  Intel Core i5-3570K Quad-Core 3.4 Ghz 4 Core LGA 1155
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 8 GB (2x4 GB) DDR3 1600 MHz

Thanks for any help before it arrives on Tuesday!

Posted: Sat Dec 01, 2012 6:21 pm
I would mount the cpu, fan and memory to the motherboard before putting the motherboard in the case.   Then I would follow the instructions on what power supply cables plug in where on the motherboard.  Next install the video card inside the case, might be a good time to clean it before installing it.  The next step will be to power it on and install the OS.  When this is done I always make sure all devices have the latest drivers.  When you have finished that you can reinstall games.  Not sure if I have forgotten anything here, but you get the idea.

Posted: Sat Dec 01, 2012 6:36 pm
I BUILT MY LAST PUTER LAST YER...SUPRISES I GOT WAS CASE NOT BIG ENOUGH FOR NEW MG...OLD POWER SUPPLY LEADS NOT LONG ENOUGH.

Sorry for caps...no going to re-type it

looks like MB and cpu are correct...going from a micro atx to an atx, diferent size boards?

Posted: Sat Dec 01, 2012 6:40 pm
Skull:  I can't just hookup my current HD with the OS on it to the new MB?  I am not sure I even have the discs for it...